RSS Feed

Broccoli-Cheddar Soup

Posted on

Why?  Because isn’t a hot, creamy, cheesy soup exactly what everyone wants on a hot summer’s day?

After the recent trend in baked goods around here I needed something healthy.  Can you believe that this soup was it?  That’s right.  Another Ellie Krieger Comfort Food Fix.

You know I often say that if you can read you can cook.  I actually had someone dispute that once because they had a friend who didn’t understand what it meant when it said to cream the butter and the eggs.  It makes me wonder if when I say something is simple, is it really simple for everyone?  These are the things that keep me up at night.

Here goes:  This was simple.     Start with your basic onion in oil, add garlic, chopped broccoli, and chicken broth.  Of course vegetable broth would work too.  Simmer away.

Let it cool while you thicken some milk with flour and add some cheese.   EK says you can puree it in batches in the blender or use an immersion blender.  Is there really a choice here?  That immersion blender is totally worth the price I paid.  Well, I actually think it was a wedding present.

This is where the pictures and the story ends.  Sorry.  My aunt called me just as I was plating.   Or would that be bowling?   I will tell you that this makes a generous 1 1/2 cup serving that comes to 320 calories, minus that slice of bread.

One other thing, there’s a little nutmeg in there.  I’ve come to the conclusion that I have some sort of taste bud deficit when it comes to nutmeg.  I wonder if there’s a support group out there somewhere.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

