RSS Feed

Renaissance-Style Lamb Chops

Posted on

With Spinach, Pine Nuts, Raisins.

I am not an expert when it comes to preparing lamb, or when it comes to eating it for that matter.  But I can tell you that this was an easy prep, it smelled wonderful, and I think it came out pretty good, if I do say so myself.  It’s simply rubbed with a mixture of coriander, cumin, pepper, cloves, salt, and my favorite — cinnamon.  Hence the lovely aroma.

Brown in some olive oil.

Then Sharon O’Connor in the Wine Tasting collection from Music Cooks says to roast in the oven at 400 for about seven minutes.  I didn’t even set off the smoke alarm.

These took just a few minutes longer.  I think they were a little thicker than hers.

You know it’s good if I stop to take a picture in the middle of the meal.

So apparently the beginning of the Renaissance coincided with the opening of the spice route.  I know y’all knew that.  I know I used to know it, but I’m not sure I would bring it up at cocktail parties.  Anyway, the point is:  I get it.  That makes sense:  spice = Renaissance-Style.  What I can’t figure out is what that’s got to do with the raisins and pine nuts.

I loved it.  It just didn’t make me feel like going out for a joust or anything.  I’m just saying.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for sharing. It looks soo good. I love pork chops

    Reply
  2. Monica I have nominated you for a bloggers award. You will find the comment in your spam or pending comments. As always I have enjoyed your recipes and the effort you put into this blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

