RSS Feed

Crabby Patties

Posted on

I am from Maine, home of the lobster roll.  Jake is from Maryland, home of the crab cake.  These didn’t have Old Bay, so they didn’t pass his test.  Me?  I love Hungry Girl.  When you read that you should imagine me singing it like it’s the theme to a Saturday morning cartoon. 

I was a little skeptical when the recipe called for canned crabmeat.  I am usually a stickler for quality.  These passed the test.  Maybe because Lisa Lillien loads in so many other ingredients and it covered it up.  Or maybe I shouldn’t be such a food snob. 

Even thought the serving is 3/4 cup, it’s baked in the oven, and it comes out at 117 calories each.

Which is a very good thing because I also made French Fries from Jennifer Reese’s book Make the Bread, Buy the Butter.  The ingredients are vegetable oil, 2 pounds of potatoes, and salt.  As if frying them wasn’t enough, these are sort of parboiled in the oil at a lower temperature.

 And then they’re fried again at a higher temperature to crisp them up. 

I hate to be generic, so I reserve this rating:  OMG.  They were amazing.  I seriously could have sat there and eaten a pound of potatoes. 

I’m sure it will come as no surprise that these completely passed Jake’s test.

On another note, I finally found a use for all of those Whole Foods bags I’ve been putting under the cabinet. 

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

2 responses »

  1. I want to eat this blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

