RSS Feed

Tomato-Watermelon Salad

Posted on

I carried a watermelon.  I couldn’t help but think it when I put it in my cart.  I’m just glad I didn’t have to say that I dropped a watermelon.  The recipe from Family Circle called for 1/2 seedless watermelon (about 7 1/2 pounds).  That’s a quote.  Now I ask you:  How was I to know if that meant a 15-pound watermelon or not?  I guess the answer to that is common sense.  Turns out the directions also so said about 12 cups, which was half of my 8ish-pound baby.    I think I ate a pound or two while I was cutting it up. 

A couple of weeks ago Marnie and I went to TWO Urban Licks.   I ordered the lamb because I was tempted by the side dish of peas and swiss chard.    It literally was delivered to the table in what reminded me of a mini trough.   Marnie ordered the watermelon salad and I ate half of it, and I’ve been thinking about it since. 

Of course I didn’t love the onion, but I don’t think you can mess up watermelon.

12 cups seedless watermelon

2 yellow tomatoes

1 seedless cucumber

1 small red onion

1/4 cup finely chopped jalapeno

1/4 cup lime juice

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

1/4 tsp salt

Combine and toss well.  Perfect for the 4th.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. It’s just perfect for me because I am having a bit sweet tooth, so juicy and refreshing because of watermelons. Love to try this one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

