RSS Feed

Corned Beef Hash and Eggs

Posted on

I love having breakfast for dinner.

I always thought that hash meant crispy, as in hash browns.   Turns out it is just a dish of diced or chopped meat and often vegetables, as of leftover corned beef or veal and potatoes, sautéed in a frying pan or of meat, potatoes, and carrots cooked together in gravy.  Yes, once again, I just cut and pasted that from dictionary.com.

Even though I was wrong about that, Ellie Krieger in Comfort Food Fix still said that you want a brown crust to form.  Unfortunately the only crust that coud be found in my kitchen was on the bottom of my pan.

This still came out delish, in my humble opinion.

I was really looking forward to this one.  Whenever I go to Danvers to visit my cousin we always try to get to Salem, MA and go to Red’s Sandwich Shop for a Hash Omelette.  The building itself dates back to the 1700s.  I vaguely remember some reference to Paul Revere, but for all I know one of my cousins could have made that up.  If you aren’t partial to corned beef hash, they have amazing pancakes too.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

