RSS Feed

Savory “Cake” with Bacon, Chervil, and Figs

Posted on

Cake Sale aux Lardons et aux Figues.  Imagine that the E on Sale has that fancy accent thing on it.  Oh, and also imagine that chervil was nowhere to be found at my usual haunts. so there’s actually parsley in there instead.

All day long Jake asked me what I was making and I told him that it was called Savory Cake.  I neglected to use my air quotes.   Since it’s in a loaf pan I like to consider it bread, which was easier for Jake to accept.  Especially when I referred to it as Bacon Bread.

Speaking of bacon, it’s so lovely when it sizzles away, but it’s even more beautiful when it’s all crispy.   I actually did use the pancetta, but you get the drift.

The name mentions the important parts, but it left out the cheese.  Comte cheese, to be precise.  Again, imagine that pesky accent.  I’m not sure I’ve ever used this type of cheese before.  It was not quite as hard parmesan, but firm enough to grate.  It was like butterscotch.  Very good just for snacking too.

My plan was to have this as part of brunch, but by the time I got around to it, it turned into a nice afternoon snack. 

I suppose I should mention that this is from Elizabeth Bard and Lunch in Paris.   She said you can mix up the ingredients and use hazelnuts or sun-dried tomatoes, but I am loving the figs. 

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

