RSS Feed

Chicken and Rice Soup

Posted on

How have I lived my whole life without ever eating and/or making this soup?

It may not look like much, and, in fact, it didn’t really take much to make it.  As usual, I feel that it needs a fancier name.  It turns out there is one:  Greek avgolemono, which equals egg-lemon.  

Here’s the humble beginning:

I know, it’s a little reminiscent of Princess Leia.  Just cover with water and simmer away.  After a couple of hours you can strain the broth and then when the chicken is cool you just separate the meat from the bones and skin.  Then it’s smooth sailing:  add rice and simmer for another 25 minutes.  Whisk together two eggs and the juice of two lemons and voila.

Okay.  So I may have left out the tablespoon of salt and a few operational details, along with freshly ground black pepper, so if you want the play-by-play you should pick up Jennifer Reese’s book, Make the Bread, Buy the Butter.  In addition to the recipe you’ll get a lovely recounting of how she went about killing her first chicken. 

In other news:  Marnie and I did the double date thing at the Braves game last night.  Of course I started off the evening with the all-American draft beer and peanuts.  That was followed by a few bites of everything Jake ate.  But later during our exploration and after a stop at the gift shop Marnie and I discovered Tachos.  Trust me when I tell you that I was way more excited than my vegetarian friend.  I’m sure that Tachos are a trend that is — or will soon be — sweeping the nation, but just in case you don’t get out much, here’s what you’re in for:  tater tots covered in chili and drowned in cheese. 

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

2 responses »

  1. Do you add the onion back in?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

