RSS Feed

Apple-Cranberry Turnovers

Posted on

This was a lovely way to start my day.

Especially since I can include my latte.

Here’s how it all began.

Easy enough.  It was all downhill from there.  Ellie Krieger in The Food You Crave says that this is supposed to make eight turnovers.  Now, I don’t know how big they make the phyllo sheets where EK is grocery shopping, but the ones I picked up were obviously not the same size as hers.  She said to cut them into four strips.  On the first try I attempted three and that was way too small.  From there on out I cut them in half. 

I’m no mathematician, but if I had followed the instructions the apples would have outnumbered the phyllo.  No worries.  The best part was I had an extra strip, so I filled it with Nutella. 

It was  a pretty messy endeavor.  EK said to crumble ladyfingers between the layers.  I’m still not sure why.  She said it would add crunch and sweetness, but I didn’t notice.

One other thing I think EK got wrong, sort of, she has this in the dessert section.  I’ll be glad to eat if for dessert, but I sure am going to have it again for breakfast.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

