RSS Feed

Farm Pot Roast

Posted on

This was good old-fashioned simple.  No fancy ingredients here.  Just some boneless chuck and veggies, simmering for hours.

Then add my weak attempt at gravy.  I am just missing the gene that makes it possible for me to thicken gravy. 

I’m so sorry I didn’t take any prep photos.  I was supposed to be off today and wound up getting called out.  That just messed me up for the rest of the day. 

The recipe called for a 4 to 6 pound roast.  I found one at Costco — my new favorite store — for around 5-something.  Actually, it was two cuts.  I was a little afraid it wouldn’t even fit in the pan.  During the prep I felt a little like Fred Flintstone.  I guess it would have been Wilma doing the cooking, though.

I just couldn’t stop taking pictures of this roast.  Or eating it, for that matter.

This is from Clemintine Paddleford and The Great American Cookbook.  It’s in the New York section and there’s only a little reference to Pawling, NY.   I don’t know where that is, but I’m guessing it’s the country.

This is going to be perfect as an open-faced sandwich tomorrow. 

The roast simmered away with onions, carrots, and tomatoes.  I ask you, where are the potatoes?  I had some little new potatoes that I thought about boiling for a side, but then I came across a recipe for Corn and Goat Cheese Pudding from House Beautiful.  How could I resist that?   As if the goat cheese wasn’t enough, there’s also asiago and parmesan in there too. 

I gotta tell you, I’m not perfect, but I am pretty anal about following directions, which really makes me wonder if recipes are actually tested.  This one called for 10 four-ounce ramekins.  As if I’m going to wash 10 ramekins when it says that you can use a muffin tin instead.  It even goes so far as to say fill two of the cups with water.  Well, the mixture I made filled all twelve cups to the brim.

Then it said to bake for 45 at 375, covered with foil, then uncover for another 15.  These still weren’t done.  Due to impatience, I turned the oven up to 400 to get them to brown.

I also find it interesting that whenever a recipe calls for putting something in a water bath, it never tells you how to actually get it out of the bath. 

Fortunately, it’s really hard to mess up corn and cheese and cream, so this was AMAZING.

I hate when I can’t find a link to the recipe.  Here you go:

4 eggs

2 cups heavy cream

2.5 cups corn kernels

3/4 c asiago

1/2 c parmesan

1 tablespoon chives

1 tablespoon salt

ground pepper to taste

pinch of granulated garlic

2.5 ounces crumbled goat cheese

Whisk eggs and cream.  Add remaining ingredients.  See above for baking directions.  Seriously, could I be more lazy about typing these recipes?

A note about House Beautiful:  I only started subscribing because the Barefoot Constessa had a column.  She doesn’t anymore.  Bummer.  But I am impressed with myself when I buy something at Antrhopologie and it’s featured in there.  Alas, I have let my subscription lapse.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

