RSS Feed

Bow-Wow Brownies

Posted on

Phoebe had a rough weekend.  Or maybe I should say ruff.  Anyway, I thought she deserved some good old brownies.

I know what you’re thinking:  what possible problem could that dog have?  She sleeps all day, every room in the house is her domain, and she gets a homemade diet, not to mention the part where she sleeps on my pillow.

Well, in addition to getting the occasional ear infection and unknown allergy attack in the form of a rash or bumps, she also gets random hives.  Usually, said hives come one or two at a time and go away after one dose of Benadryl.  Well, Saturday they increased after the pill and they were in the proximity of her face/nose, so we headed to the emergency vet.  Well, by the time we made the 20-minute drive they had started to disappear, so instead she “did her business” in the parking lot, and then we stopped at McDonald’s on the way home so the she and I could split a vanilla cone.  Uh, I get the cone and she gets bites off the spoon.  Of course, the hives came back on Sunday, and were still lingering this morning, so off to the vet we went.

Okay.  So I made brownies for my dog, but at least I didn’t frost them.  Arden Moore in Real Food for Dogs includes a recipe for Bow-Wow Brownie Frosting.  I thought it would be a little too messy, and Phoebe didn’t object.

Before you go feeding your dog chocolate — which is very bad — I should tell you that these are made from carob powder and carob chips.  You could eat them if you felt so inclined.

So what if I licked the spatula after I put them in the pan.  They look like regular brownies, don’t they?

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

