RSS Feed

Roasted Red Pepper and Walnut Dip

Posted on

I guess this is also known as Muhammara.  I only know that because Ellie Krieger said so in The Food You Crave.  I guess I should pay closer attention the next time I go to the Food and Wine Festival at EPCOT.

This was pretty easy — actually, let me rephrase.  If you can find pomegranate molasses, then it’s pretty easy.  But if you have to use pomegranate juice, it may take some time to get it to reduce.  Otherwise, all you really have to do is toast some walnuts and then grind them away.  I’m here to tell you that those walnuts smelled amazing.

In the interest of full disclosure:  this didn’t really blow up my skirt.  Now, that could very well be because, in addition to this dip, our cocktail hour for dinner included a big hunk of cheese (which I doused in honey) and a baguette.  Needless to say, after said bread and cheese, and sampling a few bourbon drinks (none of which I cared for) I really wasn’t all that hungry.  Jake did eat his fair share, and seemed a bit more interested in the idea of having it again when I suggested pouring it over some cream cheese.  Come on, I’m sure that made you cringe a little.  I also thought it would be pretty good on a veggie wrap.  Sure enough, EK suggests just that, or a sauce for grilled fish.    AND I just remembered that I picked up a head of cauliflower so I can roast it and dip it.  Looks like it’s cocktail hour for lunch tomorrow too.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

