RSS Feed

Eggplant Rollatini

Posted on

Say cheese.

As much as I like to try new food whenever I get the chance, especially when dining out, I always seem to order eggplant parmesan when I go to a traditional Italian restaurant.  My husband, who doesn’t think he likes eggplant, will always finish my last few bites.   Of course I immediately reminded him of this when I told him that this rollatini was on the menu.  I warned him that even though there’s no breading, there’s plenty of cheese.

First, let me tell you about the eggplant.  In Everyday Italian Giada says to get four medium eggplants, about four pounds, and cut them lengthwise into 1/2-inch thick slices.  I am not exaggerating one bit when I tell you that I used a ruler to measure these.  Now, I will admit that my eggplants were a little on the short and stocky side, but still, 1/2 inch is way too thick.  They took forever to tenderize in order to roll them and then they were too short to hold the filling.

Speaking of the filling, that’s 32 ounces of ricotta with a little mozzarella and parmesan.  Please note that I pronounce all three cheesees in English, not Giadiaese.  Now I have to wonder what the plural of cheese is.  Anyway, there’s also some pine nuts and basil.  But here’s the thing:  she says to use a tablespoon for each one.  Do the math.   I’m not going to, but you can.  The point is four eggplants, no matter how tall, are not enough to hold more than 32 ounces of cheese at 1 tablespoon each.  You see what I’m saying?

Now, having said all that, top these babies with some sauce, bake for a bit, and they are divine.

We had ours with a side of angel hair, and I even had a few peas on the side.  I didn’t push the peas issue with Jake.   He actually had seconds on the eggplant, though.

Now I am left with the dilemma of what to do with all of the extra cheese.  I’m open to suggestions.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

