RSS Feed

Orange Flower Creme Brulee

Posted on

En Francaise:  Creme Brulee a la Fleur d’Oranger.

It may look a little too dark and crispy, but that was the least of my troubles.  When I started off I was actually pleased by how simply it went.  Just some egg yolks and sugar mixed with heated milk and cream.    Yes, that does mean more egg-white omelettes for me.

According to the Laduree Sucre recipe these should bake at 210 for an hour.  To that I say, hah.  Not even close.  According to the Barefoot Contessa, if memory serves because I don’t have her book in front of me, she said 325 for 35 to 40 minutes.  More importantly, she suggested starting with a water bath that’s already boiling.   After about 25 extra minutes, they turned out okay.

After overcoming the baking aspect, then you have to tackle the cooling.  They have to get to room temperature and then chill for a few hours.

Then it’s time for the broiler.  Laduree says to use brown sugar.  The Contessa says regular, and she recommends a blow torch.  I always think that something gets lost in translation.  This time I’m convinced it was the conversion for the orange flower water.  The recipe calls for 3 1/3 tablespoons.  It was like drinking a bottle of Cointreau.  I actually couldn’t finish it.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

