RSS Feed

Nougat with Cherries and Toasted Marcona Almonds

Posted on

Well, this looks okay here, and it tastes pretty good, but I’m pretty sure I did a lot of things wrong.

I’m pretty close to giving up on Annie Rigg and her Gifts From the Kitchen.  There just isn’t enough guidance.  Especially if you’re like me and you haven’t made a lot of candy.  I was supposed to keep whisking until the mixture stiffens, thickens, and turns pale cream-colored.  I settled for two out of three.

This sat overnight.  At this point I still thought I was in good shape.  I should note that the recipe calls for natural colored candied cherries.  Apparently neon red isn’t the natural color, but that didn’t occur to me until I really looked at the picture.

Along with the cherries there are apricots, pistachios, and Marcona almonds.   An excellent combination, even though after I returned from my errands I discovered that it had turned into nougat soup.

As if I haven’t done enough complaining, there was a lot of cleanup involved too.

And on top of all that, my brand new spatula came apart.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

