RSS Feed

Toasted Rice Ice Cream

Posted on

With a Whiff of Coconut and Black Tea.

I didn’t think it was possible, but I finally met an ice cream that I don’t really like.  Of course that didn’t stop me from eating it.

You can’t beat the texture when it comes to the milk and heavy cream, along with some cream cheese.  But as much as I may like having a little something mixed in, I can’t really get into the rice.

Maybe another reason this isn’t my favorite is because you essentially have to make two desserts.  First the rice pudding, and then the ice cream.  That also makes for some extra dishes.  The toasted rice is not something you see every day, though.

Hmm, now that I think about it, rice pudding isn’t my favorite either.

I did really like the tea flavor.  I used Darjeeling.  Surprisingly, Jake loved this.

On the other hand, my favorite ice cream from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home by Jeni Britton Bauer, hands down, was this Savannah Buttermint.

I actually made this earlier this month and never got around to telling you about it.  It was supposed to be the last recipe I was going to make in the apartment.  I set aside everything I needed to make  it before the movers came, or so I thought.  I had actually already moved my sugar.  It was totally worth the wait.

By the way, as if the butter and the mint weren’t enticing enough, this has white chocolate swirls in there too.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

