RSS Feed

Granola

Posted on

Simply put.  I guess the best recipes don’t need fancy names.   This if from Jennifer Reese and Make the Bread, Buy the Butter.

I don’t love granola, but I’ve made it a few times over the years and this is the best recipe I’ve run into so far.  I think it’s because of the coconut.  I took a before and after picture, but there really isn’t much of a difference.  In fact, when the time was up I was tempted to put it back in the oven.  Then I nibbled on it and fell in love.  As I was putting it away I was eating it by the handfuls like popcorn!

Now, I know that looks like a dish of granola, but really there’s some Greek yogurt hiding under there.  5.3 ounces of yogurt to be exact.  What ever happened to the 6-ounce serving, or the 8-ounce for that matter?

Anyway, I may not love granola, but I do love yogurt.  Back in my dieting days I would have a yogurt every day.  A friend once asked me what I missed most as a result of my restricted eating.  The answer she expected was cookies or pastry, but my response was full-fat yogurt.  This was before Greek became a trend.  At the time someone was making Creme Savers flavors and they were heavenly.

Back to the matter at hand, there’s a quarter cup of granola with the 5.3 ounces of yogurt.  When the granola completely ensconced the yogurt I thought perhaps I had gone too far.  Not so much; it was the perfect amount.

On a final note, it seems fitting to make granola after a trip to Maine.  I don’t know if it’s a commonly used term now, but in high school we would refer to those nature-lovers  as granolas!

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. Wow, this looks delicious! Yummy! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

