RSS Feed

Oatmeal Raspberry Ginger Scones

Posted on

Woohoo!  This is my inaugural Joy the Baker recipe.  I’m pretty new to the blogging scene, but somehow I managed to stumble upon Joy.  I knew that she had a new book coming out, but I thought for sure I wouldn’t need to buy it.  Well, when I saw the Joy the Baker Cookbook in the store and found that the first recipe was entitled Pancakes Pancakes Pancakes, how could I resist?  Seriously, it just wasn’t humanly possible.  Besides, she has that tattoo that just equals sexy baker.

Imagine my surprise when these scones were the firs recipe in the pancake chapter.  Apparently even in cookbooks you need to read the fine print.   It says: and other lesser breakfast items.  Trust me when I tell you that these sconesare not lesser.

Joy Wilson is my new idol.  Here’s why:  I learned to freeze the butter and to grate it.  That’s right.  I said grate it.  Frankly, if I ever have to cube my butter I will freeze it too.

That’s what 10 tablespoons of grated butter looks like.  Well, I guess technically it’s only about six tablespoons.  I couldn’t risk my fingertips for that straggling two tablespoons.

I am used to to cutting my scones into triangles with a pizza cutter, but since Joy says to scoop them, scoop them I did.

These were a lovely way to start the day.

I can’t wait for the next time I can bake with Joy.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. I would love some of these! Yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

