RSS Feed

Mayonnaise

Posted on

That’s right.  I said mayonnaise.  And it was divine!  It didn’t hurt that I picked up some English muffin bread at Publix.

And no, I’m not gross enough to just eat bread with mayo.  I also grabbed a rotisserie chicken for Jake, since he did not approve of the fish tacos.

I was astonished by how easy this is and how few ingredients there are.  In fact, I wanted to take a picture before I started blending, but I ran to the fridge to read the label on the Hellman’s because I just couldn’t believe there wasn’t something else in there.  The point is that I was so excited to get to the blending that I forgot to take a picture.  It’s an egg yolk, teaspoon or so of Dijon, a pinch of salt, juice of a half a lemon, and 1 and 1/4 cup of vegetable oil.  And then from there it’s like witchcraft.

You drizzle the oil slowly while blending.  I used an immersion blender and I swear it gave me carpal tunnel.  That’s probably because I messed up the first batch and refused to give up.  The first time went perfectly until I went to add the last quarter cup of oil.  I must have drizzled too fast, because it was definitely drinkable.  After that the paranoia kicked in, so I only used a cup in the second batch, but I think it turned out fine.

This was from Jennifer Reese’s book Make the Bread, Buy the Butter.

On another note, I tried to make her Everyday Bread again last week.  I was pretty excited since I had a whole pound of new yeast.  Well, failure ensued.  I did a little research and discovered that I was not the only one to have issues with her recipe.  In fact, there were several comments on her site about it.  I was a little disappointed that she had not responded with a solution.  I think when I make my next attempt I will use warm water, as opposed to her suggestion of room temperature.  I’ll keep you posted.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. Mayo can be a tasty treat…but have you ever seen this…it kind of scared me away from the stuff:
    http://fedupfood.com/2012/02/08/things-that-stop-and-make-you-think-heavy-duty-mayo/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

