RSS Feed

Roasted Pineapple Tart

Posted on

Or Tarte Ananas Roti, if you prefer.

Let me tell you a tale about a pineapple and a vanilla bean.  Before you can get to the Roasted Pineapple Tart, you have to get past the Roasted Pineapple.  It’s all a very time-consuming process.  Actually, to tell the truth, before the pineapple, you need the Sweet Almond Pastry.  I made that yesterday and let it sit in the fridge.  For the pineapple you basically steep the vanilla bean and then caramelize the sugar.  Then it all roasts together for an hour and 45 minutes.   Oh, and there’s rum.

As the vanilla was steeping Jake came into the kitchen and said, what is that intoxicating aroma?  Well, maybe he said smell, but definitely intoxicating.

Once you get past the dough and the pineapple next you have to conquer the coconut cream.  Said cream calls for ground coconut, or as they put it in Laduree Sucre, coconut flour.   Now, I’ve been around, and I’ve heard some things, so I am under the impression that coconut flour in France is a little different from what we have here.  So going along with the idea of ground coconut, I probably should have just ground some coconut.  Instead, I used powdered coconut, which is really for making milk.  Before it went into the oven, it looked exactly as I thought it should, and it tasted even better.  Yes, of course I licked the spatula.  I was even nice enough to share it with Jake.  That doesn’t always happen, you know.

I just wanted to show off my perfectly whipped cream.

I think that’s where it all went south.  Although the texture still looked great after folding in the whipped cream.

So after you top it with half the pineapple and then bake it for 45 minutes — I hope you’re not in a hurry — this is what happens.

I know, it’s not pretty.  It puffed up so much that some of the pineapple fell to its demise on the oven floor.  Fortunately, it settled down a little after cooling, and I managed to camouflage it a bit.

Those are vanilla beans all over the place.  I swear, I didn’t pick the pieces off the oven floor.

In the end, it was a little soft, and not very photogenic, but it was tasty for sure.  I’m suspect it will firm up in the fridge.   Whatever happens it will not go to waste.  All in all, it was totally worth the effort.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. A tart full of pineapple! so lovely! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

