RSS Feed

Chouquettes

Posted on

The perfect way to start the day.

I wouldn’t necessarily say that I’m intimidated by pastry dough, but it is my least favorite kind of baking.  Especially when it comes to all of the flour, rolling it out, the chilling, or the rising – ugh.  I just don’t have the patience.  Of course I always love the end result and it’s usually worth it.  These little gems were the exception in that there was no fuss and no muss.  Just some milk, butter, flour, and eggs.  Well, a little sugar and salt too.

Then just dollop onto a parchment lined pan.  I’m here to tell you, if you run out of parchment, don’t use foil.

These are from Elizabeth Bard and Lunch in Paris.   She kindly gives instrcutions on how to bake these from the freezer, fridge, or fresh.  She also said they should make about 24.  My batch made 30ish.

In case you can’t tell from the picture, they were excellent and by the end of the day there were only three leftover.

These came out of my first batch and I thought they were perfect.

This one is from the lsat batch and even though it’s out of focus you can tell it’s different.

I’m not a pastry chef or a scientist, so I’m not going to attempt an explanation.  They were all good.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

