RSS Feed

In-N-Outrageous Animal-Style Salad

Posted on

Can you tell by that name that this is from Hungry Girl?

Just your basic salad ingredients here:  lettuce and tomato.  There should be some onion in there too, and even though Lisa Lillien in 300 under 300 suggested cooking it, I just wasn’t feeling it.  However, there is some dill pickle in there, which is my new fave salad ingredient.

The real treat in there is the veggie burger.  I’m not a vegetarian, but I’ve played one on TV before.  I am a big fan of all the MorningStar Farms products.  I usually go for the Grillers Prime, but since HG suggested using a patty with 100 calories or less, being the incessant rule-follower that I am, I went with the Garden Veggie Patties.  Okay, so I know they’re 110, but I have to live on the edge once in a while.

The secret ingredient:  toss the veggie burger in mustard.

In other news:  Jake and I went to Figo for dinner tonight.   If you go, make sure you check out the menu first, because when you walk in the door you place your order right away.  Then you pick your table — I would go for the patio if you’re in Vinings — and your server brings it to you.  How do they find you, you ask.  They have pepper grinders decorated in different colors and themes.  Tonight ours was the lighthouse.  I tried to squeeze it in the picture with my Pinot in a jar.

I also had the Rossini Ravioli, which was stuffed with roasted beets and fresh goat cheese.  I have to order beets whenever I can and last week even had some beet sushi.  In addition to the cheese sauce, the best part of this dish was the candied pine nuts.  That was a first for me.  I’m sorry, but I can’t go to Figo without getting a meatball.  I highly recommend the Zia Emilia:  lamb with mint, goat cheese and raisins.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

