RSS Feed

Pecan-Crusted Sliders

Posted on

Don’t you want to know what’s inside the crust?  Personally, that would be my first concern.

It’s pork tenderloin, and it couldn’t have been easier to prepare.  Instead of pounding it with a mallet, like with chicken breast, you just use the palm of your hand to squish it flat.  Sorry, I guess I should have given a little warning that some vegetarians may find this unpleasant.  Hmm, maybe there should be some sort of rating system.

Just two to three minutes on each side, probably closer to two, since mine got a little crispy.   I also cheated and stuck my buns in the toaster instead of grilling them.  I am a firm believer that everything tastes better on toast.

Just top with a little broccoli slaw tossed with mayo and green apple.  Don’t tell anyone, but there’s some honey in there too.

I yanked this out of Better Homes and Gardens back in April 2009.  I have to say that there’s a good chance I will repeat this one in some form or fashion.   I tossed some dried cranberries in the rest of the slaw for my lunch tomorrow.

Here’s the recipe.

What better to go with sliders than Potato Chips with Blue Cheese Dip.  Well, that and a Sweet Water Blue.  Actually, I could have lived without the dip, but the chips were perfectly crispy and I’m always happy to find a recipe where I can get my money’s worth out of my mandoline.

If you think April of 2009 is a long time to hold onto a recipe for, then you’ll love that the recipe for the chips came from Cooking Light’s April 2008 issue.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

