RSS Feed

Monkey Bubble Bread

Posted on

I don’t know about yours, but my mother never made monkey bread.  In fact, even though I have heard of it before, I can’t remember where, when, or how.  This is my first time making it, and I have decided that I need to file some sort of charges against my mother for depriving me of monkey bread all of my life.

After last week’s Everyday Bread failure, I ordered a pound of instant yeast from King Arthur Flour.  Yesterday when my husband found a box in the mail I could be heard exclaiming, over and over, something along the lines of I’m so glad my yeast is here.

I was pretty happy when the dough managed to rise properly.  I even enjoyed cutting it up and rolling it into about 65 balls.  After I dipped them all into butter and the brown sugar I realized that I didn’t take nearly enough pictures.  Hey, in my defense, we’re moving in a couple of weeks and I had to empty out a closet full of Christmas decorations today.  I did manage to snap one before it went into the oven.

This recipe is from Baked Explorations by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito.  I’m sure I’m the only one that just discovered these guys this year.  They suggested that you only make this when you’re having company and they are right.  Only half of it is left at the moment.

Since I am a monkey bread virgin, I was under the impression that the point is to pick one piece out at a time, so that was my first attempt.

That didn’t work out very well, in my opinion.

Besides, any chance I have to use the knife and server from my wedding, I just can’t pass it up.

This was my first slice.  Did I mention we ate half of it?  So good.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

