RSS Feed

Chicken Alfredo with Zucchini Ribbons

Posted on

I know what you’re thinking.   I thought the same thing:  that’s the brownest alfredo sauce I’ve ever seen.  There’s a couple of reasons for that, which I’ll get to in a minute. 

I feel I should disclose that this one was actually a lot of work, in my opinion.  I’m not usually shy about the prep work, but first you have to cut up all the zucchini and saute it with the garlic and oil.   Then set aside.

Next, you basically repeat the step with the chicken.  Then set aside.  Are you following the set-aside trend?  Then while the pasta is cooking you can make the sauce.  The way I read the recipe it sounded to me like I should use the same pan that the chicken was browned in; hence, the brownish alfredo sauce.  Don’t let the color turn you off, though. 

This came from Ellie Krieger’s Comfort Food Fix.  For an EK recipe I was a little surprised that it called for 3 tablespoons of olive oil.  I am not complaining, but of course I have some advice.  Pay attention:  I know nothing about olive oil.  A few years back I started using Olio Santo because that’s what the Barefoot Contessa uses.  I love it and it works well for all purposes.  However, there have been occasions where I have branched (get it, branch, olive.  Subtle, I know.)  out and picked up some local variety ,and of course I had to get a bottle when I was in France.   They’ve been fine, but I always go back to Olio Santo.   I’m not telling you to run out and buy it, but here is my advice:  if you do buy it, don’t get the full-size bottle that is similar in size to a bottle of wine and especially don’t leave it lying around when your wine glass needs to be filled and you’re sort of harried from the dinner you just made that required all of that prep, setting aside, and multi uses of olive oil.  

I guess that’s what you call a recipe for disaster. 

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

