RSS Feed

Pineapple Cream Cheese Pie

Posted on

This is another classic from my childhood.  You can make it with any fruit topping and every holiday we would have at least two or three versions; we each had our own favorite.  It’s also one of those recipes that my mother did not have written down anywhere.  At some point I scribbled it down, but let’s just say that what I had was so vague that I actually had to make a second trip to Publix for the crust. 

 

12 ounces cream cheese

1 can of sweetened condensed milk

1/3 cup lemon juice

1 teaspoon vanilla

graham cracker pie crust

Just let the cream cheese soften all day and then mix the first four ingredients until creamy and smooth and then fill the pie plate. 

Cover with plastic wrap or, preferably, the liner from the pie crust, and refrigerate overnight.  

If you are so inclined, you can top it the next day with a can of the pie filling of your choice.   Even though my mother would disapprove, that was my plan.  Imagine my disappointment when I discovered there isn’t a pineapple version.  Here’s what I did:  Add 2 tablespoons of sugar to a 20 ounce can of pineapple tidbits and heat to a simmer.  Mix 1 tablespoon of cornstarch with a little bit of water, add to the pineapple and simmer for a few minutes until glossy and thick.  Please keep in mind if you choose to undertake this feat that thickening anything is my culinary nemesis.  Still, I think mine turned out okay.

From what mom says you can do the same thing with fresh or frozen strawberries, or blueberries, or just buy the can of cherries.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

