RSS Feed

Baked Spinach with Bacon

Posted on

I had you at bacon; right?  Even though I didn’t have the patience to let the bacon get as crispy as I’d hoped, this was easy and light, and my husband even had seconds.   That’s newsworthy because, as you may recall, spinach is not on his list of the Big 3 vegetables.  This was also the perfect match for the Cherry-Stuffed Ham and Twice-Baked Potatoes.

Just frozen spinach mixed with eggs and bread crumbs.  It bakes in the oven with the bacon on top.

I guess the bacon is supposed to get crisp enough to crumble, but after waiting more than two hours for the ham and then 45 minutes for the spinach I just couldn’t wait any longer.  Patience is one of the many virtues I don’t possess.  I used my kitchen shears and snipped away.

The spinach recipe comes from Clementine Paddleford and The Great American Cookbook.  It’s actually from the California section.  This book was first published in the ’60s; I would love to know if anyone in California still eats spinach baked with bacon grease.  Personally, I used center cut bacon and I was surprised and pleased that it wasn’t super greasy. 

The ham is a recipe that I pulled out of Better Homes and Gardens.  The date isn’t on it, but I would guess it’s from sometime in the spring of 2010.

I realize now that the slits I made to stuff the cherries into went the wrong direction.  Still, I had seconds on this one.   The rest of the sauce is peach preserves, so I plan to have the leftovers on toast. 

Sorry.  I didn’t take a picture of the inside of the potatoes.  Hey, it’s a potato, I think y’all know what it looks like.  No fancy recipe here.  Bake the potato, scoop it out, mash it with butter and milk (my mom revealed to me yesterday that she uses canned milk), put it back in the shell and top with Velveeta, back in the oven until it melts.  Can anything really go wrong with Velveeta?

Happy Easter.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. Spinach is the only green thing my fussy eater will eat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

