RSS Feed

Fresh Corn-and Potato Salad

Posted on

Since I grew up in Ohio I’m used to the old adage of knee-high by the 4th of July when it comes to corn.  Imagine my joy when I was in Whole Foods the other day and spotted the fresh corn.  Yes, that’s right, I’m in Whole Food about every other day lately.  Don’t judge me.  Sure enough, my recipe file for April had several items for corn.  This one is from Southern Living’s April 2011 issue.  I guess that’s just one more reason to live in the south. 

This also has some red pepper and a lovely cilantro dressing.  The recipe actually suggested cutting the avocado, but since my husband isn’t a fan this makes it easier to pick them out. 

This was the perfect side dish to go with my Giada recipe for this week:  Grilled Jumbo Shrimp.  I know her book is called Everyday Italian, but you have to read the fine print on the cover that says simple and delicious.  This shrimp was just brushed with olive oil and topped with salt, then grill it on each side for three minutes.   Seriously, that’s it.  That’s the whole recipe.

Jake is from PA/Baltimore and a tried-and-true believer in Old Bay seasoning and boiled shrimp with cocktail sauce.  Insert juvenile emphasis on the first syllable of cocktail here.  Yep, that’s my dream date.  I don’t really like the stuff myself.  The point here is that he loved the shrimp and didn’t even care about the sauce.  Of course, that didn’t stop him from making the joke several times.    Don’t worry, he still thinks it’s funny and gave me permission to write about it. 

Just a couple of things before I depart, Giada recommends serving the shrimp with spaghetti and Arugula Pesto.  I opted for the salad because of the corn.  I’m so glad I did; the potatoes and avocado were so creamy and the corn perfectly crisp.  Looking forward to the leftovers.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

