RSS Feed

Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs with Honey

Posted on

and a Toast to Carrots, but first let me tell you about this honey.  Apparently it’s available in many varieties in France.  This recipe from Elizabeth Bard and Lunch in Paris calls for rosemary honey.   Rosemary?  No problem.  I live in a big city with many Whole Foods in varying sizes.  So I went on a honey mission.  Among the usual orange blossom, wildflower, and clover, did you realize that there’s raspberry and even sage too?  Alas, no rosemary.  Fortunately, we have the Internet, Martha Stewart, and I have a rosemary plant that I’ve kept alive for a little over a year.  Here’s how to make Rosemary Honey.  Seriously, how did our mothers ever put dinner on the table? 

In addition to the 45 minutes to allow the honey to steep, the ribs marinated for an hour and a half.   And then they roasted for about two and a half hours, and then I let them rest overnight.  All that waiting equals torture for my husband.  You should know that this was my first foray into making ribs at home.  I’m already pretty weak when it comes to making decisions at the butcher counter, but the guys at Whole Foods were very helpful and talked me into the St. Louis style ribs.  The recipe called for four pounds, and the guys cut them into individual pieces for me, so I didn’t have the heart to tell them to throw back the extra three-quarters of  a pound.  I was amazed at what 4.75 pounds of ribs looks like, so of course I took pictures.  I have since decided they’re kind of gross up against my pretty rosemary.  So I’ll skip ahead to the end result:

I should also mention that the French name for the recipe is Travers de Porc au Miel.  Doesn’t everything sound better in French?

EB recommends serving these with crushed potatoes, but I had some leftover sweet potato tots in the freezer, so all I needed was a vegetable.  Since my husband’s return I am a little limited on the vegetable options.  He is only a fan of the big three:  carrots, corn, and green beans.  I can get him to eat zucchini if it’s buried in a casserole, or broccoli if it’s covered in cheese.  Of course these are exactly the ways that I don’t like to eat them.  Don’t worry, that’s not going to stop me in the future.  But he’s only been home for a few weeks, so the man deserves some carrots.

When I moved to Atlanta almost two years ago I picked up The Complete Southern Cookbook by Tammy Algood.   Believe it or not, I’ve become more discerning in my cookbook purchasing.   What made this one so irresistible?  Instead of having a chapter for appetizer and dessert, or meat, fish, and poultry, this gem is broken up into over 50 categories, including such stars as biscuits, coca-cola, macaroni and cheese, and so southern.  Imagine a whole chapter on each of these!

So simple:  roasted with garlic and olive oil, salt and pepper.  What more do you need? 

Along with a lovely anecdote about Bugs Bunny, TA just taught me that when you buy fresh carrots with the tops on that you should cut the greens off when you get home because they suck the moisture from the carrots.  How have I lived my whole life without knowing that?

The ribs reheated beautifully and we licked the bones clean.  I guess technically I should say we sucked the bones clean.  Either way, I gotta go.  I think I might be ready for seconds.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

