RSS Feed

Peanut Butter

Posted on

That’s right I said peanut butter.  I made my own peanut butter.  I can’t believe how easy it was:   peanuts and peanut oil.   Done.

I know.  It looks like soup.  

What’s more important is why I made peanut butter.  Of course I have a new book:  Make the Bread, Buy the Butter by Jennifer Reese.  In the beginning she tells a charming story about Uncrustables.  If you don’t know what they are, I’m happy for you.  They are premade PB&Js in the frozen section, made by Smuckers.  Her reaction was similar to mine:  what has the world come to that you can’t even make your own sandwich?  Now, even though I don’t have kids, I realize these are targeted to busy moms.  To whom I say:  shame on you. 

Anyway, now that I’ve fallen off of my high horse, it occurred to me that it wasn’t too many years ago when housewives probably made their own breadcrumbs.  I confess, at the moment I have three different cans in my cupboard.   

The gist of the book is that the author did the research on what’s worth making and what’s worth buying.  So stay tuned.

I give this one two thumbs up.

You know I love a good closeup.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

