RSS Feed

Sour Lemon Scones

Posted on

I must have done something wrong, because there was nothing sour about these little gems.

These come from Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito and their book Baked New Frontiers in Baking.  I don’t know anything about these guys, but I want to make everything in this book.  And of course I bought their second book too, so stay tuned.

Back to the scones.  I am not a scone expert.  I was a little taken aback that there are three sticks of butter in there.  That’s a lot of butter for 12 little scones.  I actually cut mine into 16, though.    Speaking of the butter, I got a little lazy cutting it into little pieces and then even more lazy working it into the dough.  I knew it was wrong when I was doing it, jut like I knew it was wrong when I put all 16 on the same cookie sheet.  Let’s just say that when I opened the oven to turn the tray I thought for sure I would have butter soup by the time it was done. 

They turned out to be a wonderful way to start the day.

Just in case you’re dying to know, that is tart cherry preserves.

Also peeking out from inside there is some candied lemon peel.  That’s right, I made it myself, from the directions in the book, of course.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

