RSS Feed

Lemon Poppy Seed Bread

Posted on

There are a lot of other recipes in my breakfast queue, but this one just feels like spring.  In fact, it’s from the spring menu in Prevention’s Health Guaranteed Cookbook.   I don’t know about the guarantee, but this is one of the very first books I started using with calorie counts, so it holds a place near and dear to my heart. 

Here’s three things I wasn’t planning on doing when I woke up this morning: crushing poppy seeds with a mortar and pestle, running out to the store for more lemons to make a glaze, buying four boxes of Girl Scout cookies. 

I don’t regret any of them.  Well, maybe I could have lived without crushing the poppy seeds.  I really need to invest in a spice grinder.  I have a coffee grinder I love, thank you KitchenAid.  I also have a pepper grinder that I’m pretty happy with.  Believe it or not, I got it at Paula Deen’s store in Savannah.  What I haven’t managed to put my hands on is a good spice grinder.  I’m adding it to my list.

To make this a little healthier, there’s some nonfat lemon yogurt and some whole wheat pastry flour, even some wheat germ.  I am fascinated by the fact that the recipe goes through all those motions, but still uses a 1/2 cup of sugar in the glaze..  I’m positive I could have lived without that.  The batter itself had plenty of lemony goodness.

 

I can only assume that Prevention never tested this recipe.  I’m almost ashamed to tell you about this.  I guess I learned a lesson about listening to my instincts.  Actually, it’s not even an instinct.  I just know that bread rises, period.  In my defense, when the batter went all the way to the brim, I listened enough to put a cookie sheet underneath just in case.  But I should have known that, regardless of what the directions said, I needed to use two loaf pans.  I’m thankful I didn’t have to clean this off the oven floor.  I kind of think this resembles art.

Just in case you didn’t fully understand.

Other than the fact that I’m convinced at least one serving dripped down the side, no harm done.  In case you’re wondering, yes, the pan is still soaking. 

Delicious and moist.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

