RSS Feed

Greek-Style Stuffed Peppers

Posted on

At first I was wondering what exactly made these greek-style.  I guess it’s the feta, for sure.  Ellie Krieger in The Food You Crave says it’s the bulgur wheat, spinach, and zucchini, along with the feta of course.  I guess you learn something new every day:  Greek cookery makes wide use of olive oil, vegetables, herbs, and grains.  

This was pretty easy.  Just mix together the beef and veggies and a little bit of bulgur. 

And then you fill the pepper halves.

Top with some stewed tomatoes and feta.  Then pop them in the oven.  They cook for an hour and fifteen minutes, so plan ahead.

 

Three peppers are supposed to make six servings.  Since they’re only 200 calories for each half, I was planning to eat the whole thing.  Think again.  These were very filling.  I thought the red pepper would be the star of the show, but actually the tomatoes were the true standout in my opinion.  Also, they needed some extra salt.  I never salt anything, so if I think they need salt, you see where I’m going. 

Eat Well and Savor

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

