RSS Feed

Mini Cheesecakes

Posted on

I really wish I had some fancy name for these.  This is an old family favorite.  My aunt used to make them around the holidays.  I used to love going to my aunt’s house.  My mom was a great cook, but it’s always nice to mix things up.   These are so simple and I haven’t made them in years. 

Here’s the recipe as it appears in my book:

12 vanilla wafers

2 8-oz cream cheese

2 eggs

1/2 c sugar

1 tsp vanilla

Mix sugar, cheese and vanilla.  Add eggs.  Bake 25 minutes at 325. 

It’s amazing to me how brief the recipes from our family are, you know, considering that no one ever shuts up.  At first I was surprised that this only makes 12, but uses two blocks of cream cheese.  I thought for sure I had that wrong, but it turned out perfectly.  I actually used the reduced fat cream cheese and I’m so glad I did, because I am eating two of these at a time.  I only had enough cherries for half the batch, so I’m dying to dig out the toffy goat butter and caramel I got in Paris to use on the rest.

When it comes to dessert you can never have enough pictures.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. It makes you wonder about all the fancy complicated recipes–no wonder people are intimidated about cooking! This simple handed-down recipe looks easy and perfect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

