RSS Feed

Steak and Fries

Posted on

I’m pretty sure that fries are one of my three desert island foods.  I had some important phone calls come in while these were in the oven.  By the time I got around to eating them they were pretty cold, but they were still great.  These are Ellie Krieger’s Garlic “Fries” from The Food You Crave.  Last time I made a fries recipe from EK I couldn’t figure out why she used the quotes.  I just this second figured it out.  Duh – they’re not fried, they’re baked in the oven.  Just infuse some canola with the garlic.  Then you strain out the garlic and toss the potatoes with the oil and salt.  35 minutes later and voila. 

Maybe they could be a little more crispy, but hey, I was on that important phone call.   Besides, I think the big chunks of garlic makes up for any lack of crispiness.

Hanging out next to my fries is EK’s Cowboy Steak with Coffee and Ancho Rub.  This couldn’t have been easier.  Espresso and chili powder with a few assorted spices rubbed on to some steak and grilled, period. 

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

