RSS Feed

The Perfect Pair

Posted on

Begins with Oven-Fried Chicken.   I’ve made other “healthy” chicken in the oven before, but I don’t remember it.  This one was too good to be true and definitely will be a repeat.   

I had braces in my late 20s and ever since then I’ve given up chewing gum and biting into chicken on the bone.  You know what I mean?  I use a knife and fork.  There.  I said it.  Well, this was literally finger-lickin’ good and I couldn’t resist.  Of course in Ellie Krieger style it was coated in yogurt, which smelled incredible.  Then the coating was whole wheat saltines, corn flakes, and if you look real close you’ll see some sesame seeds! 

I hate to be cliché, but they got it right in the south:  fried chicken and collard greens work well together.   I couldn’t wait to make these.  Mostly because I couldn’t wait to get this huge tree out of my fridge.  In case the picture doesn’t do it justice, that is a full-size grocery bag.   Seriously, the door almost wouldn’t close.

The chicken and these Shortcut Collard Greens come from The Food You Crave.

I’m ashamed to say that I don’t know how long regular collards take.  The shortcut part of these is five minutes in the microwave.   They come out bright and beautiful.

Thirty minutes of simmering with onions, cider vinegar, and maple syrup and they are nice and tender.  You’ll have to refer to the first picture for the end result.  Apparently I was too hungry and forgot to take one of them alone.  I was  little concerned about these, due to my onion aversion.  Onion Shumnion.  I am not too proud to admit that I had juice dripping down my chin.  Here’s the great news.  I only used half of the greens, so not only is this worth a repeat, but it will be repeated immediately.

I like to say that I was a Southern Belle in a past life.  Now, I’m convinced.

Eat Well and Savor. 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

