RSS Feed

On Top of Spaghetti, All Covered with Cheese

Posted on

In my head I was singing on top of old smoky all covered with cheese.  Imagine my surprise when I discovered it was all covered with snow.  Here’s the version that applies: 

On top of spaghetti,
All covered with cheese,
I lost my poor meatball,
When somebody sneezed.

How long do you think I’m going to have that in my head? 

This was all inspired by Ellie Krieger’s Spaghetti with Turkey Meatballs in Spicy Tomato Sauce.  I have had my eye on this recipe for quite some time, mostly due to the very enticing picture in The Food You Crave.    I was also looking forward to this one because spaghetti and meatballs is one of those 20 meals that my mom used to make.  I know that may not sound unique.  Does it help if she made her own sauce?  I mean really made it.  Not even like EK’s version with a can of crushed tomatoes.  I’m pretty sure there were no cans involved.  No offense to EK. 

Anyway, I’ve actually made this sauce before and I was very happy with it.  This time the meatballs were actually the star of the show.  Don’t get me wrong, the sauce was good, but I would have liked a little more of it. 

You know I love a before picture, especially one with a lot of colors.

These little soldiers were broiled for 10 minutes.

They’re just resting on top of the sauce for the moment.

I will have to repeat this one for my husband for sure.

btw – I hate to sound like a broken record, but these meatballs were ginormous, the serving was huge, and it was only 330 calories!

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

