RSS Feed

If Life Gives You Lemons

Posted on

Screw the lemonade, make Limoncello.   It’s pretty time-consuming, but mostly easy.  I did run into a few bumps in the road though.

Here’s the star of the show. 

Well, technically I guess the vodka is the main ingredient.  Annie Rigg in her book Gifts From the Kitchen says you’ll need a jar to keep it in for a week and then a bottle to decant it into.  I am here to tell you that if you have a 750 ml bottle of vodka and you think that a 33 ounce jar will work because the ingredients just call for lemons and sugar, then you should read the actual recipe that says the juice of the lemon is included too.  In case I’ve been unclear:  my jars overflowed, but we’ll get to that in a minute.

So you peel the lemons and then simmer them with some water and sugar, and eventually add the aforementioned juice.

I actually made a double batch, so when I made the discovery that my jars were too small I had to find something glass that would hold approximately two quarts of vodka and the extras.  All I had was this huge container with a spigot.  The lesson I learned here is make sure that said spigot is closed when you pour in the liquid.

So there my concoction sat for a week awaiting it’s new home in the pretty little bottle with the blue lids.  Next lesson learned:  the lids were plastic and plastic melts in the 350 degree oven when you’re sterilizing the bottle.  Good thing I had a spare cork.

The end result was worth the struggle.

So when I was searching for a shot glass that doesn’t have a big red O on it for OSU — which I never found and it’s a good thing because a shot glass is way too small — I came across my special ice cube.

It doesn’t take much to amuse me.

This one is for Tinkerbell.  I think the ice cube came for a drink at WDW.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Sparkling Limoncello « all about my charmed life

Leave a Reply

