RSS Feed

Simple Salmon Supper

Posted on

Growing up the only fish I can remember eating were catfish and Mrs. Paul’s.  Said catfish we caught ourselves.  That’s right, I have my own fishing trophy.  Of course living in Maine I remember shellfish galore, especially while working at the ice cream place (aka fast food and dairy bar).  Still, at home, my mom never experimented, and to this day she turns her nose up at everything that isn’t haddock.  I guess while living in Florida in the ’90s I discovered salmon and tuna, and more importantly sushi, but that’s another day.   Since then, of course I have branched out, but salmon still remains a favorite.  I think it’s because you can do the most minimal preparation and it’s still flavor-packed and rich. 

Enter Salmon with Sweet and Spicy Rub.  It’s just brown sugar and chili powder, some cumin, done.

The salad was just as flavorful and simple.  What you see is what you get:  arugula, tomato, and artichokes, aka Arugula Salad with Pesto Vinaigrette.  The dressing is my new go-to:  equal parts red wine vinegar and basil pesto. 

I’m sure it’s no surprise that this is all from Ellie Krieger and The Food You Crave.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

