RSS Feed

One More Super Bowl Suggestion

Posted on

I thought I should jump on the bandwagon with all the posts about the Super Bowl.  Frankly, I kind of forgot that it was tomorrow.  Obviously, I am not a football fan. 

Here is my football history in a nutshell:  In elementary school I went to high school games with my brother and sister that are nine and ten years older than me.  Of course they were there with their significant others, so I got 50 cents and hung out with my friends, who also happened to be the younger sibling of said significant others.  That was the ’70s.   By junior high, which was the ’80s, I was a whiz with the Mattel electronic football, but that’s where my interest ends.  Well, don’t get me wrong, I am from Columbus, so I was born a Buckeye.  Once a Buckeye, always a Buckeye.   I wear my scarlet proudly and I’ve even been to a few games.  

Anyway, none of that means that I have anything against the food!  I thought Ellie Krieger’s Five-Layer Mexican Dip from The Food You Crave would be perfect.  It was tremendous!  Layer 1 was pureed black beans with onions and the like.   Layer 2 was corn  with more onions and the like, and some cilantro.  Layer 3 was avocado with lime.  Layers 4 and 5, not so exciting, tomatoes and cheese.  I was a little disappointed that the cheese wasn’t melted, but it didn’t matter.  There’s just one problem with this dip:  I had more than one serving.   Also, I thought the avocado would be the star of the show, but it turned out to be the corn.

Here’s a look inside.  Just to be sure I get my point across:  This was REALLY delish.

Well, I couldn’t just have chips and dip for dinner, so I had to come up with something to go with.  My friend Avery loves Mexican.   She and her husband probably have it once a week.  Another thing they have on a regular basis is shrimp cocktail.   Somehow that made me think that the two go together.  I know, you are continuously amazed by how my mind works.  When I came across a recipe for Spicy Southern-Style Shrimp in Great Cooking Every Day by Weight Watchers, I had to go with it.  I’m not really sure what makes this southern.  There’s a lot of ingredients in here and there really isn’t one stand-out ingredient.  It was good, but not great and next time I will definitely take off the shells.  The recipe said to leave them on because it makes is more flavorful.  In my opinion, not so much.

 

Well, I suppose it goes without saying that I have no idea who is playing tomorrow, but I do plan to record it, so I can see the commercials and Madonna.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

