RSS Feed

Honey Balsamic-Glazed Chicken

Posted on

Sounds good, doesn’t it?  That’s what I thought and then I read the recipe and I had my doubts.  As usual, I was wrong.  This came from Canyon Ranch Nourish by Scott Uehlein and it was outstanding.  The balsamic in question was white balsamic, which I’m pretty sure I’ve never used.  In fact, just about a week ago I found a bottle in the cabinet and I suspected that it had been there over two years.  There wasn’t an expiration date on it, so of course I tossed it with the thought that if I hadn’t used it in all that time, yada, yada, yada.   Needless to say, I had to buy a new bottle.

Accompanying my yummy chicken is Quinoa Pilaf with Pine Nuts from Ellie Krieger’s So Easy, along with some steamed spinach.   I hope nowadays everyone knows what quinoa is. 

Quinoa before:

Quinoa after:

Said pilaf has onions and pine nuts and it’s supposed to have some parsley, but I didn’t realize I was out, so I just added some spinach for color.  According to EK, we eat with our eyes. 

If you had asked me yesterday what pilaf is I’m not sure I  would have known.  I thought it had to have peas or something.  I’m not really sure what I thought.  I guess that means I never thought about it.  Anyway, I was surprised to learn from diciontary.com that it is simply pilaf because it is cooked in broth. I have a Food Lover’s Companion that I would love to consult, but since I am trapped under a little snoring Phoebe right now that will just have to wait.

One other thing about tonight’s dinner.  I usually like to save my last bite for the best part of the meal and it was definitely a tossup between the quinoa and the chicken.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

