RSS Feed

Happy Hour for Dinner

Posted on

Personally, I have long been a fan of Brinner, aka breakfast for dinner.  I have recently discovered that I also really like cocktail hour for dinner.  I think it started in September when we went to France.  There was more than one time that we had cheese for dinner and I think it stuck.  Plus, don’t you just love the sound of chinner.  I decided I prefer cocktail hour to happy hour.  I’m sure it’s because I’ve been watching Mad Men lately.  Cocktail sounds retro.   

Tonight I made Stuffed Potato Skins with Avocado Cream from Ellie Krieger’s Comfort Food Fix.   Seriously, as if the potato skin alone wasn’t enough of a treat there’s avocado too!  It’s topped off with a little bit of Canadian bacon as well.

How beautiful is that?   The avocado is mixed with sour cream, with some lime and garlic and scallions.  These babies come in at 105 calories each.  I repeat:  How beautiful is that?

I may like to eat light, but even I needed a little something to go with these.  When  I found a recipe for Green Beans with Country Mustard and Herbs in Cooking Light’s Fresh Food Fast, I had to make them.  After all, I just made mustard a couple of weeks ago and I can only eat so many pretzels.  The herbs in question were parsley and fresh oregano.  I’ve heard a lot of chefs say that fresh oregano is too overpowering, but it was a perfect mix as far as I was concerned.  AND even though there was only one tablespoon of butter for the four servings, I thought they were butterlicious.  That’s probably because I don’t abuse butter, so I REALLY notice it when it’s in there.

Why is it I think that potatoes and green beans are the perfect pair?  I keep thinking that they are combined in German potato salad.  Whether that’s true or not, it’s not like I was raised on German potato salad, although I do have some German relatives on my dad’s side.  Well, I would love to wax on about this (get it, wax, beans.  never mind) but I’ve just realized that I have to call my mom for her birthday.  It’s okay, she’s a night owl, so I’m not too late. 

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

