RSS Feed

It’s Whoopie Pie Wednesday

Posted on

Next week is my friend Juliette’s birthday.  She loves the Outrageous Brownies from the Barefoot Contessa.  After one bite we renamed them Orgasmic Brownies.  She’ doesn’t cook much.  That means never.  She is always asking me to make them for her, so of course instead I made her whoopie pies.  Hey, if she wants the brownies, she has to come and visit me. 

I’m not totally heartless, she loves peanut butter too.  Enter the Fat Elvis.  I am not kidding.  It’s banana whoopie pie and salty peanut butter filling, and the edges are rolled in crisped bacon!  How heavenly is that?  I owe it all to Sarah Billingsley and Amy Treadwell.  Their book is simply called Whoopie Pies.  I wish it had a better name, but what’s inside is worth it.   

I love my mini whoopie pie pan that I got from Crate and Barrel.   They are the perfect size every time.

A word about peanut butter — who am I kidding?  Several words about peanut butter:  I grew up on Jif.  Actually, I think we had to eat the stuff out of the tub until we were old enough to appreciate the Jif.  I am the last of five kids, so it suddenly occurs to me that I am probably the only one that got the Jif when the rest  of them had moved out of the house.  Anyway, I have gone through peanut butter phases in life that have included the natural, the gourmet, and Reese’s.  Nothing beats Reese’s peanut butter melted on your ice cream.  Currently, I LOVE Peter Pan Honey Roasted.  However, I swear by Jif when it comes to baking and especially at Thanksgiving when it’s Buckeye time.  What’s that?  You don’t know what a Buckeye is?  Well, you’ll just have to stick around until November.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

