RSS Feed

Chocolate Chip-Coffee Muffins

Posted on

I realized recently, when I reorganized the recipes that I’ve been tearing from magazines for the last five-plus years, that I like to bake.   Obviously I knew this, but the evidence could not be refuted.  Apparently, I also like pasta; there must have been ten different recipes for mac and cheese.  I think some of this might be a result of ten years of dieting. 

Anyway, in addition to the magazine cleanup, I’ve spent a few weekend mornings measuring flour and beating eggs with the sun coming in the window and the coffee brewing and it’s all so Leave It to Beaver, which I’m too young to have watched, but you get the idea.   Well, today was not that day; we had tornado warnings and major storms.   If the lights had gone out I would have needed a candle at 11:00 this morning.  Mind you, I’m not complaining; by 3:00 I was out running errands without even a coat.  I do love the south. 

On to my muffins.  This month’s Cooking Light came and I knew right away that I needed to make the last recipe in the issue.  I think the title says it all.  I was especially pleased that I had all the ingredients on hand, even though I had to use half mini chips and half regular, and it turns out that what I had was instant espresso instead of instant coffee.  I  think that only made them better! 

I was so excited about the recipe because — well, let’s face it, anytime you can incorporate chocolate into your breakfast is a win as far as I’m concerned.  I was also thrilled about the actual use of coffee.  I remember years ago being frustrated with coffee cake recipes that were not coffee flavored.  I’m over it now.  Really, I don’t discriminate when it comes to cake.

I should note that this was in a section of the magazine titled From a Reader’s Kitchen.   So here’s a special shout out to Sarah Engeler-Young from Conway, Arkansas, for making over this breakfast treat so that they are only 214 calories each.  By the way, those of you who think eating light is icky and bland, I should also mention that this recipe has real butter and sugar and whole milk.

Eat Well and Savor

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

