RSS Feed

Not My Grandmother’s Cabbage Rolls

Posted on

My Gramma might have put raisins in there, but I’m positive there weren’t any pine nuts, and definitely no feta.  My version, Barley-Stuffed Cabbage Rolls with Pine Nuts and Currants, came from Slow Cooker, a Cooking Light cookbook.  To me, a slow cooker is a Crock-Pot, but I have just learned that that’s a brand name.  Who says my blog is not educational?

Anyway, I saw an old episode of the Barefoot Contessa the other day and she was making cabbage rolls, so I’ve had a hankering all week.  On top of that, this is the time of year when I try to make sure that I, literally, dust off the slow cooker.  However, I had some technical difficulties right off the bat.  You’re supposed to steam the cabbage for 8 minutes and remove 16 leaves.  Well, I got about six leaves in and it wasn’t steamed enough.   It is a beautiful shade of green, though.

Maybe it’s the reflection from the cutting board.  Oddly, it made me think of the big blue marble.  I suppose I should say the Big Blue Marble, which was a TV show in the ’70s.  Apparently I didn’t watch it, because I thought it was a skit from Sesame Street or maybe the Electric Company.  Speaking of the Electric Company, I was very glad to see that the montage of Morgan Feeman’s work on the Golden Globes included a scene from his EC days.  I know, it’s amazing how my mind works.  Please, try to keep up.

LOVED this filling.  I could eat this by itself.

Well, back to my eight leaves.  I had the genius idea that I would just double up.  Turns out that double the filling was a struggle for my little leaves, especially when it came to the last two that weren’t exactly pliable.  The end result was that my rolls were not exactly perfect and some of the filling managed to escape.  Frankly, it didn’t bother me a bit.

More importantly, they were hearty and filling. 

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

