RSS Feed

Banana Ice Cream with Caramelized White Chocolate Freckles

Posted on

That’s a long title and worth every word.  When last we visited the land of ice cream it was for a lovely vanilla bean, which turned out smooth and voluptuous.  Before we met, I made a salty caramel that deserved an OMG rating.  I thought it couldn’t get any better and boy, was I wrong. 

It all started off simply with some white chocolate and coconut oil.  Once it melts it’s supposed to take 15 minutes to turn to a deep amber color.  Here’s the thing:  it took longer than 15 minutes.  I actually blame myself this time.  My least favorite thing, culinarily speaking, is getting liquids to thicken.  I realized a few years back that it’s a result of being tall and having a long neck.  Don’t ask.  Anyway, I cranked up the heat on this a little and the amber finally kicked in.

Trust me, it tastes way more amazing than it looks. 

The ice cream itself was pretty much the standard vanilla from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream at Home, until the star ingredient showed up:  two bananas.  I was a little disappointed that they were to be pureed in the food processor.  I was kind of hoping for some chunks.  I stand corrected, though, because I could have drunk that banana juice out of a glass.

Usually when I make the ice cream I probably eat the equivalent of a scoop just by taking a few spoonfuls to test the consistency and then once I scape the dasher and the bowl afterwards, and that gives me the strength to let it freeze overnight and wait until the next day for a bowl.  Well, today I didn’t wait.  Jeni says to freeze it for four hours.  I left it for five and it still wasn’t enough.  I totally blame the crappy appliances is this apartment.  The point is that I couldn’t perfect my photos because God forbid that it melt before I get to it.

Now the freckles make sense.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

