RSS Feed

Rainbow Breakfast for Dinner

Posted on

Let me start off by introducing one of my favorite, and oldest, kitchen tools:  Microwave Steamer.

This one happens to be from Tupperware, circa 1997.  It’s the perfect size for the two cups of broccoli I needed for Ellie Krieger’s Broccoli and Cheddar Frittata from The Food You Crave.  It also works wonders with zucchini and asparagus.  Just put a little water in the bottom, add the strainer basket, add the veggies.

Put the lid on and two minutes in the microwave will give you perfect little green jewels.

I usually don’t like to be instructional or go step by step, but I am into beautiful pictures lately, and since I went there with the rainbow, I thought I should back it up.

I guess I am going to have to stop claiming that I don’t like onions.  I suppose the correct thing is to say that raw onions are unacceptable.

Beautifully softened onions in oil, acceptable.

See how happy my broccoli and onions are hanging out together.

And now the eggs come to the party.  Here’s a little EK trick:  use an egg and an egg white.  Well, in this case it’s four of each because it’s four servings, but you get the idea.  And if you’re like me and you hate the idea of wasting a yolk, you can get Organic Valley egg whites in a carton.

Listen up all you people who think that diet is a four-letter word.  Another tip from EK:  don’t skimp on the cheese.  Don’t use fat-free or even reduced-fat, just use a smaller amount of the good stuff.

And just when you thought it couldn’t get any better.  Two minutes under the broiler and voila.

Well, I’m sorry if you’re as fascinated by the broccoli as I am, because it’s time to move on to the Tomato Stuffed Peppers.  In addition to the tomatoes, there’s some garlic and calamata olives hiding in there. 

I’m going to spare you the other six pictures I took trying to get the cooking process documented.  Here’s what they look like after 50 minutes in the oven at 350.

I guess today is Praise Ellie Krieger Day, because here I go again.  She definitely believes in a big portion.  This full plate comes in at 365 calories.

Oh, wait, I spoke too soon.  I have to take back some of the praise.  One bite out of the peppers and I knew they were not roasted enough for my liking.  Another 20 minutes in the oven, this time at 450, is more my style.

So I rambled on and on and neglected to elaborate on the rainbow.  I hope you figured it out on your own.  Without being too preachy, I hope you see how easy it is to incorporate the rainbow into your day in a healthy and delicious way and that if you say lifestyle instead of diet then it’s not four letters.

Red peppers

Orange cheese

Yellow eggs

Green broccoli

Blue plate

Purple onion

I know, I cheated on the plate, but I love my dishes, so I think that counts if it makes you happy.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

