RSS Feed

Edamame “Hummus” with Spiced Pita Chips

Posted on

That’s right, I made my own chips.  Well, more specifically, I cut up some pitas, then tossed them with oil and spices, and proceeded to bake them to the perfect level of crispness.    The spices included cumin, coriander, garlic, salt, and pepper.  If I wasn’t such a whimp with the spicy aspect it would have had cayenne too.   Again, I ask myself is it bad that I wanted to lick the leftover oil out of the bowl?   This urge made me realize that you could do virtually any mix of spices with some oil and dip your bread into it a la the Italian restaurant way.  I guess that’s why they have all those seasoned oils at the stores.  Anyway, as usual, I never would have pulled this off without the help of Ellie Krieger and The Food You Crave. 

I am assuming that hummus is in quotes because there weren’t actually any chickpeas involved.  The silky creaminess is brought to you by tofu.  Among other things, there’s a lot of lemon juice in there too.    EK served her chips with the hummus spread on each one.  I am a dipping kind of girl.

I don’t like to be critical (except when it’s directed at my husband) but the one thing I had a tough time on this one was the fact that it called for 1 cup of tofu.  Have you ever tried to measure tofu?  I suppose I could have mushed it in there, but I just found it awkward.  It all worked out in the end though.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

