RSS Feed

Nutty Pineapple Cream Cheese

Posted on

Back in the day I used to work at the Office Depot corporate headquarters in Florida.  At that time the campus was three buildings and over 3,000 employees.  As a result, on the first floor we had the equivalent of a small food court.  This was the late ’90s (which I can’t believe the other way of saying that would be 15 years ago!)  Anyway, this was also before I discovered calories, also known as the time before I lost 75 pounds.  The point is — I’m getting there, don’t rush me — the breakfast bar used to have the most amazing cinnamon-raisin cream cheese.  I swear I piled that an inch thick, on each side of my sesame seed bagel.  Boy, would I love to get my hands on that cream cheese now.

This recipe from Prevention’s Stop Dieting and Lose Weight Cookbook (really, where do they come up with these snappy titles?) is a suitable substitute.  I’m even going to give you the recipe, which is becoming a habit for me.  This is another one of those recipes which pretty much gives you the ingredients in the title.

8 ounces nonfat cream cheese

2 tablespoons of peanut butter (I used crunchy)

8 ounces of crushed pineapple, drained

That’s it.  Common sense says to let the cream cheese soften before combining.  Of course I did not have the forethought on that one; hence, lumps in my cream cheese.  oh well.  The book says to serve this on raisin bread, but I had to opt for the mini raisin bagel.  It also says five servings, but I made mine six. 

I realize this is not the most appealing breakfast, so I thought I’d throw in my cute little Anthropologie coffee cup.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

