RSS Feed

Wholegrain Honey Mustard

Posted on

I’ve been thinking about this mustard all day.  Pathetic, I know.  

This was my first attempt at homemade mustard.  It was surprisingly easy.  Just soak the seeds in vinegar overnight and then mix with honey and grind them up the next day.   This simple recipe comes from Annie Rigg’s Gifts From the Kitchen.  

I was not expecting the seeds to expand to twice their size while soaking.  I was so fascinated and I felt like my science project had just gotten an A.  I suppose I should have seen it coming.  I couldn’t imagine why the recipe said it would make three jars when I only had two cups of seeds.  I’m sure there’s a scientific term for this that I would have learned if I had paid attention in class. 

 

Since this was a gift I had to dress it up for Marnie.

And now the moment I’ve been waiting for.  I’m sorry to say I wasn’t thrilled, but I haven’t lost hope.  The mustard had a wonderful aroma, but a big bite.  However, I came across another recipe that suggests you should let it sit for a week, so it’s a good thing I have five more pretzels.

In other news:  Marnie and I went to Cafe Intermezzo today for lunch.  I can’t say enough good things about that place.  There are at least 100 different drinks in the beverage menu.  Of course we had to do our part and try two each.  Also, I had the yummiest little crepe with brie, turkey, and strawberry coulis, and then I couldn’t resist sampling Marnie’s rosemary roasted potatoes.  I also have to give a special shout out to the decor here.  The tables are reminiscent of the cafes I visited in France and even the bathroom is adorable.  Let’s just say I actually had to pull a tassel to flush and I would love to have the copper ceiling tiles  in my kitchen.   I’m ashamed that we didn’t get dessert here, but I know we’ll be back.

Eat Well and Savor

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

