RSS Feed

Steakhouse Substitute

Posted on

My husband says I’m the best cook ever.   Notice I used the word says, as opposed to thinks.  I’m not implying that he doesn’t mean it, but there are times when he’s says it and he doesn’t want seconds. You do the math.  Nonetheless, I tell him all the time that that’s not true.  Having said that, I firmly believe that when something doesn’t come out right that it’s due to the recipe and through no fault of my own. 

Tonight was an off night, to say the least.  The idea for dinner began with Oven-Baked Onion Rings from Ellie Krieger’s The Food You Crave.  I was a little skeptical to begin with, given my pickiness when it comes to onions.  Don’t get me wrong, I eat onion rings all the time, but they have to be just right for me to actually eat the onion.  My first problem wasn’t even with the onions, though.  EK calls for baked potato chips to be processed into fine crumbs and this is supposed to take 20 seconds in the food processor.  Well, I am here to tell you, do not use Kettle Brand Baked Potato Chips.  They’re a great chip, but I don’t think they would ever become fine crumbs.  It was all downhill from that point. 

Surprisingly, even though they look a little too burnt/crispy, they were very good.   Homemade onion rings are definitely something I will try again in the future.  In fact, I’m pretty sure Hungry Girl has a recipe.

Obviously I needed something to go with my rings.  To me, the clear answer is a burger, but I just had turkey burgers last week.  Enter Coffee-Crusted Sirloin from the Better Homes and Gardens New Dieter’s Cookbook.   This brings to light another of my culinary flaws:  I am not hip to the scene when it comes to cuts of beef.  I am sure I’m not alone.  Regardless, this one was marinated in balsamic vinegar and coffee mixed with brown sugar and salt.  Sold! 

I decided to go with the before picture, so you can’t see how much I overcooked it.  In addition to this amazing rub, there was a little gravy of sorts too, with shallots and more balsamic.  Hmm, I bet the leftovers would make a great sandwich.

As I was looking for my steak recipe I came across a one with swiss chard, which is another one of my favorite veggies from living on the farm.  You don’t really see many recipes for it.  In fact, I had to find mine in the French Women Don’t Get Fat Cookbook, by Mireille Guiliano.  It was actually Mushrooms and Swiss Chard, but I took some liberties.  Frankly, there wasn’t much to it.  Just saute some shallot in butter and oil and then add the greens.  I skipped the mushrooms.  I love them too, although I hated them as a kid, until I ran into them in some soup at a chinese restaurant when I was eight.  Alas, I digress. 

So here’s my dinner, not the greatest, but not the worst. . . . a ringing endorsement, I know.  I also know it’s not the best picture, but by the time everything is done I’m hungry.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

